Precision 23 Reviewed

  By Thom Burns

A s you approach the Precision 23 at the dock, you notice that the white hull is neatly trimmed in teak and accentuated by light gray non-skid. This boat has nice lines which welcome you aboard. In new cruising boats, I immediately look for cockpit size and comfort, visibility, and a light, open airy feel in the cabin. The Precision 23 will not disappoint, nor will the friendly folks at Dream Sails located at Bertha Boatworks on the Whitefish Chain just north of Brainerd, Minnesota.

Dream Sails is owned by Craig and Ruth Witrock, two nurses from St. Cloud, Minnesota. Dream Sails rents some boats as well as sell new Precisions and some used sailboats. Craig started in the sailboat business

back in the early 1970's on Lake Pepin where he did boat demos for the Chrysler sailboat dealership in Winona, Minnesota owned by Bill Gernes.

Craig and Ruth Witrock were proud to show off the new Precision 23 as well as their personal boat, a five year old model.

The Precision 23 is a large, cruising trailer-sailer. At 2,450 lbs it is not light, but it has a low trailering profile and can be handled by most sport utility vehicles and many mini-vans. The 23 was designed by Jim Taylor who has designed the entire Precision line. The builder, Precision Boatworks of Palmetto, Florida requested from Taylor and has built a relatively large trailerable sailboat in the older school tradition of shallow lead-ballasted keel with a centerboard for performance.

Taylor claims to have designed a “maxi-trailerable” boat. With the 23’ 5” length and 8’ 6” beam, he may be right at least in term of practicality. The boat, trailer and 500 lbs of gear will put the trailer weight at about 4,000 lbs.

The boat has a fine entry, substantial flare in the topsides forward and wide quarters that taper to a relatively small transom. This combination gives a smooth ride when heeled underway.

The high lift NACA foil sections of the centerboard and rudder are one of the more efficient foils in a boat this size. The alternatives which offer a low profile are a heavy bulb on a retractable keel which saddles the design with a large centerboard trunk, water-ballast with centerboard or a variety of winged keels. I’ve never seen a winged keel perform well on a boat in this size range.

Construction

The hull is hand laminated with ISO/NPG gelcoat finish and a vinylaster resin skin coat. The hull to deck joint is bonded and through bolted. The deck is a sandwich around closed cell PVC foam with plywood inserts under the mast and any other place where through-bolts are used. It has molded in non-skid. There is also some poured-in-place foam stiffeners added in the seat back coamings.

Performance and Handling

The Precision 23 carries a PHRF rating between 225 and 231. This is about the same as the bigger swing-keel Catalina 25. It is lower than the O’Day 25 and 26. The sail area is close to a high performance J-22. When I sailed the boat the winds were light, three to seven knots, with some windless holes. We rigged the boat with Craig's cruising gennaker for added power. The boat sailed quite well on all points of sail.

Craig said he reefs at about 15 knots when cruising.

Later, I met a sailor who trailers his Precision 23 to Florida and sails to the Bahamas regularly. He told me that he went through 10 - 15 foot seas with 25 knot winds and gusts to 40. He said the boat held up well although he was beat up a little. The passage obviously got his attention since he sat in his inflated liferaft in the cockpit until he finished the trip. Precision doesn’t recommend offshore passages with this boat.

The hardware is Harken. The deck is clean with the chainplates placed well inboard, a vital ingredient for upwind performance. The single lifelines open at the 7’ 3” cockpit. The cockpit is roomy with seats built into the stern pulpit. These seats are standard, but they are such a great addition if I had an older model Precision 23 I’d retrofit them. The weakest link from a performance point of view is the lack of a travelor. You might add one initially rather than retrofitting later. The large cockpit has comfortable seats. There is an anchor locker forward, a separate ventilated gas can locker aft as well as a deep and a shallow lazarette for cockpit storage. Seated cockpit visibility is excellent.

The Precision 23’s is well designed below. The interior is open and airy. It has high quality Lewmar opening ports and hatches. There is no compression post breaking up the interior under the mast. The compression post is replaced by a reinforced beam. The forward bulkheads do not compartmentalize the interior. There is a standard porta potti forward port and a galley starboard aft.

The galley has a stainless steel sink with manual water pump, an ice chest with teak step and a two burner alcohol stove.

The cushions and backrest cushions on the shelves seemed to hold up pretty well. I visited Craig and Ruth’s Precision 23 which is five years old. They stay on the boat alot and the cushions look good.

The simple franctional rig features one set of spreaders and chainplates placed well inboard. This allows for better upwind performance and smaller sails to handle forward. The tall aspect main provides most of the power. The main sail has one set of reef points with jiffy reefing. The backstay is split with a short bridle. This rig provides for easy, simple handling while delivering the power for good performance.

The Precision 23 is a mainstream trailerable with plenty of room for camping out for the weekend. The lead ballasted keel and centerboard for performance is a proven design. It is well built and designed with many modern improvements such as the stern perch seats, ergonomic cockpit cowlings and Lewmar opening ports. If you can pull 4,000 lbs around, it’ll give you many trailering options. If you leave it in your marina, it’ll provide a fine small sailing yacht with adequate weekend accomodations. I would add a bigger genoa or a gennaker and a travelor.

The bottom line ... good value in a new boat.

Thom Burns publishes Northern Breezes.

For more info: Bertha Boatworks, 800-450-4500, 218-543-4100 Hoopers Yachts, 612-436-8795, 800-377-8795 Precision Boat Works, 813-722-6601 Sailboat House, 608-849-9200 Sail Iowa, 800-7281301, 515-842-2301.

All contents are copyright (c) 1997 by Northern Breezes, Inc. All information contained within is deemed reliable but carries no guarantees. Reproduction of any part or whole of this publication in any form by mechanical or electronic means, including information retrieval is prohibited except by consent of the publisher.

  • AROUND THE SAILING WORLD
  • BOAT OF THE YEAR
  • Email Newsletters
  • America’s Cup
  • St. Petersburg
  • Caribbean Championship
  • Boating Safety

Sailing World logo

Precision 185, Well-Done Daysailing Performer

  • By Alan Andrews
  • Updated: November 6, 2002

precision sailboat review

The Precision 185 was voted Best Value for its combination of good sailing characteristics, substantial construction, and reasonable cost. First and foremost this boat performs well; yet it shouldn’t intimidate even entry-level sailors. The Precision 185 also appears well built, and at $7,495 is a tremendous value for an 18-foot daysailer.

We test sailed the Precision in the Severn River off the Naval Academy following the U.S. Sailboat Show in light air, averaging about 6 knots with puffs to around 10 and lulls down around 4. With two aboard, the boat went well both upwind and down. Tacking angles were better than average for an introductory-level daysailer, much closer-winded than many shoal-draft cruiser/racers, but as expected, seemed just a shade wider than the highest performance dinghies. We could roll tack the Precision, but still the boat was stable enough that we never felt on edge as many narrower waterline dinghies feel. In the puffy conditions this Jim Taylor design accelerated quickly and responded well to moving crewweight from leeward side to weather and back again. In each position–to leeward, crouched over the board trunk, on the weather seats, or hiking–there was a comfortable place to sit and the path across presented fewer obstacles than many dinghies. As racers, the judges had the instinct to sit on the wide rail and hike out in the gusts. This would have been difficult in breezier conditions without hiking straps but that could easily be rectified.

Downwind it was easy to go wing and wing, heeled to weather with the helmsman holding the jib out. This boat is so stable that the crew was also to weather instead of the usual centerline position on the board trunk, even with the centerboard mostly raised. For daysailing or one-design racing, downwind speed was fine but a spinnaker or gennaker would have certainly improved performance. As judge Meade Gougeon noted, “I envision this hull having great surfing potential that could get unlocked with the right spinnaker package.”

We simulated a dinghy race starting line, stopping with sails luffing and then sheeting in just above the leeward pin. The Precision 185 held position well and then accelerated smoothly off the line when we sheeted in. In addition to performance sailing, the Precision 185 is targeted towards daysailing whether singlehanding or with four or more aboard. Its ballasted board and the fact you can roller furl the jib and sail on main alone expand the range for comfortable singlehanding. Testing the other end of the spectrum, the whole judging panel came aboard, including BOTY Director Peter d’Anjou, for a total of four skeptical speed merchants. All of us were pleasantly surprised that the Precision still moved well, had plenty of seating and, ever mindful of speed, didn’t excessively drag its transom.

Precision and Jim Taylor have been in the trailerable boat market for almost 20 years and their experience shows in the 185. It’s clear this boat was designed to sail in shallow waters with the kick-up rudder and centerboard. The board relies on steel ballast to hold it down, but will automatically pivot up in an accidental grounding. The kick-up rudder has a line that holds it down, led to a pressure release Clamcleat on the underside of the tiller. This arrangement is also well-suited to ramp launching or finding a nice beach for lunch between races.

Also notable on this Precision are a spray rail protecting the cockpit, a 36-quart cooler located between the mast and centerboard trunk, and a swim step separated from the cockpit by enough of a coaming that moderate chop won’t come aboard. There’s also a storage locker under the foredeck.

Hardware is simple and primarily by Harken, with 2-to-1 purchase jib sheets to swiveling jam cleats on athwartships, adjustable jib tracks, jib furling, 4-to-1 mainsheet with ratchet block and jam cleat, 4-to-1 boom vang and 3-to-1 tackle to raise the ballasted centerboard. All control lines were easy to reach and easily adjusted, and our only suggestion was to move the furling-line jam cleat farther forward so it would be difficult to sit on when hiking out. The mast bend and mainsail were well matched so that the sail flattened when sheeted on in the puffs and powered up when the sheet was eased in the lulls. Jib luff tension is set when raising the deck-stepped mast and is controlled by the aft-swept shrouds and Ronstan shroud adjusters with the forestay removed and then pulling the rig forward and pinning the forestay furling drum in place. On-the-water adjustment systems are great, but the increased cost would tend away from the Best Value exhibited in the Precision.

While some builders are producing dinghies with roto-molded or thermoformed plastic, Precision Boatworks builds their line, including the 185, in what has become the tradition of hand-laminated fiberglass. Outside skins are vinylester for blister resistance and improved moisture barrier. E-glass reinforcements in polyester resin make up the balance of the laminate with Klegecell closed-cell PVC foam coring in deck panels and where hull stiffening is required. The resulting hull and deck laminates were appropriately stiff with no noticeable oil canning when slamming into powerboat wakes and a firm feel to the deck and cockpit. The 185 is built from two moldings, hull and deck, that are joined with an overlap joint, but with the added detail of a plastic rub rail that will surely diminish the dock-ding damage that has caused leaks in so many similarly joined boats. Inspection ports provide access to rudder gudgeons and the forward storage area under the mast. Here the deck-stepped mast is supported by a substantial under-deck fiberglass box-beam that allows the locker cutout to be located immediately below.

This combination of substantial construction, moderate price, and good sailing performance earn the Precision 185 the Best Value title for the year. Additions of spinnaker and hiking straps won’t break the budget, but will add further to the value for performance-minded sailors.

www.precisionboatworks.com

  • More: Sailboats
  • More Sailboats

ClubSwan 28 rendering

Nautor Swan Has A New Pocket Rocket

Pogo RC Visuel

Pogo Launches its Latest Coastal Rocket

The Storm 18

A Deeper Dive Into the Storm 18

precision sailboat review

2024 Boat of the Year Best Recreational Racer: Z24

precision sailboat review

Black Foils Pad Season Lead with SailGP New York Win

Bill Widnall

Widnall Prize Announced for Helly Hansen Sailing World Regatta at Marblehead Race Week

Grangers waterproofing

Reproofing May Be Required

precision sailboat review

Sagamore Ridealong in Chicago

Sailing World logo

  • Digital Edition
  • Customer Service
  • Privacy Policy
  • Cruising World
  • Sailing World
  • Salt Water Sportsman
  • Sport Fishing
  • Wakeboarding

precision sailboat review

Precision 15

Daysailer r

The target market for this boat could be family daysailing, but the 15 would also make a very nice trainer. The hull is broad enough to provide stability without acrobatics. At 600 pounds, the boat is also light enough to be fast and responsive. The broad and flattish sections aft mean that the 15 will be stable off the wind in a breeze. In light air, you can move crew weight forward and get the fanny out of the water to reduce wetted surface. The keel is a bulb/end plate-type with only 1-foot, 8-inch draft. The rudder is considerably deeper than the keel. I'd like to see a deeper keel, but recognize that Taylor and Precision have become very adept at doing these minimal-draft keels.

The cockpit is 9 feet, 4 inches long and the side decks are wide enough for comfortable hiking. The side decks will also help prevent swamping in the event of a knockdown. No centerboard means no centerboard trunk to interfere with the cockpit.

The rig is a simple sloop rig with swept-back spreaders. It doesn't get any more basic than this. There is a mainsheet traveler, some attention to the vang is all that's needed to take care of leech tension. Jib lead tracks are adjustable for close sheeting angles.

Think back a bit to a time when we had Highlanders, Rebels, Lightnings, Thistles, Ravens, Geary 18s, Flying Scots and a plethora of other healthy and fun daysailers. Along came the Laser and all emphasis was put on blistering planing speeds. Today this is carried to an extreme with boats like the new Olympic class 49er that can humble even the most experienced and athletic crew. The Precision returns us to a more versatile type of boat, capable of satisfying two 14-year-olds or mom, pop and the grandkids.

Also in Perry on Design

  • Full Circle 30
  • Tanton No. 309
  • Dragonfly 40
  • Wallyrocket 51

Also from Robert H. Perry

precision sailboat review

Precision: Small, Fast, and Fun

Small, fast, and fun.

Cruisers | Daysailors | Crossover | Frequently Asked Questions

We have designed our share of large yachts, but our enthusiasm for small boats remains undiminished. Small-boat sailors derive every bit as much satisfaction from their modest craft as jet-setters do from their big ones, and we approach our smaller designs as no less significant, only less big. We take great pride in applying the same standards to all our work.

We are also proud of our long term association with Precision Boatworks, www.precisionboatworks.com which began in 1984 with the Precision 18 and continued until they ceased new boat production 35 years later. Precision shared our commitment to, and pride in, doing small boats well. Their tooling was exquisite, and it produced attractive, stylish, high quality molded parts throughout their model line, from the Precision 15 to the Precision 23. They built to an equally high standard, with materials that are chosen and used carefully, and with quality rigging and hardware that is appropriate for the intended use. Their boats were carefully built to their designed weights, and they are rugged, reliable, and long lasting. Stylish looks, lively performance, and fun sailing are all top priorities for both designer and builder on all Precision sailboats.

The essential ‘Precision DNA’ that is central to the performance, style, modest draft and easy trailering of each Precision model is common to them all, but there are differences that give them their individual appeal.

The Precision cruisers all feature a keel/centerboard underbody that combines modest draft when with the board is up, with excellent windward performance when the board is down. The ballast is secured deep in the fixed keel cavity to maximize stability. The board itself is only heavy enough to drop on its own, so that it can be raised and lowered with one hand, and so that stability is not reduced significantly when it is up.

Precision 18

The Precision 18 was designed to be the smallest boat that could be practically cruised, and still be easily trailered by a relatively small car. She has a remarkably loyal following, and is still in active production after nearly 30 years.

Precision 21

Not too big, not too small, and for some, just right. Designed to fit right between the Precision 18 and Precision 23, the Precision 21 was intended to appeal to sailors requiring neither the minimum cost of a mini-, nor the extra space of a maxi-trailerable. I recently encountered a Marblehead family of four going out for an evening sail, and they could hardly have been happier or more complementary about their boat. They said that their Precision 21 suits them perfectly.

Precision 23

Targeted to be the biggest cruiser that could be practically trailored behind a family car, the Precision 23 is an enduring benchmark for her size and type. She has successfully completed some surprisingly long passages, and has earned an impressive number of rewarding wins in club level racing.

Precision 27-28

The P-27 became the P-28 with the addition of a swim step in an extended transom.  These were only boats in the Precision line that featured an inboard diesel auxiliary and optional wheel steering.  This step up in specification proved to be a challenge for their dealer network at the time, so not a lot were produced, but the boats are comfortable and sailed well, and are quite popular with their owners.

The Precisions daysailors have especially large cockpits, and no cuddy cabins. They are both built in two versions, one as a crew ballasted pure centerboarder for ready trailering, and another that is a bit heavier with a fixed lead keel for added stability.

Precision 15 and Precision 15K

The Precision 15 was intended as an entry level family boat, with pricing and practicality to suit. Precision 15’s are easy to rig, easy to handle, and rewarding to sail. They achieve a nice balance between rewarding performance and reliable seakeeping, which they combine with ample stability. In addition to facilitating family fun, Precision 15’s are in wide use as trainers in community sailing programs.

Precision 185 and Precision 185K

The Precision 185 expands on the broad appeal of her smaller sister by adding an extra dose of acceleration and speed to her performance profile. She was recognized by Sailing World magazine as a Boat of the Year for her “combination of good sailing characteristics, substantial construction, and reasonable cost.” Her swim platform at the transom contributes to the fun by getting swimmers back aboard more easily and allowing youngsters to trail their toes in water. This ‘back porch’ can also contribute to safety by facilitating boarding from a dinghy, and recovering from an accidental ‘man overboard’ incident more easily and quickly. For some sailors, the Precision 185K keel version may be better suited for deeper, less sheltered waters.

Transit 380

The T_380 design ( www.transit380.com ) is intended to suit young sailors who are making the transition from the single-handed Optimist pram to high performance double-handed dinghies. Most kids ‘size out’ of the Opti at about 115 pounds, and between the ages of 11 to 14. After years of sailing alone in prams, many are also looking forward to sailing together with friends. Many do not yet have the sailing skills and experience required to handle a Club 420, however, and expecting them to do so is a bit like handing a new driver the keys to a Porsche. For decades, the Blue Jay and Widgeon (among others) have filled this gap, but time and technology have long since passed these boats by. The Transit_380 brings modern materials and carefully ‘kid centered’ design detailing to a contemporary version of this transitional mid boat.

Precision 165

Precision 165 combines the low trailer weight and reasonable cost of a daysailor with the ‘get out of the weather’ cuddy cabin and on-board toilet facilities of a small cruiser. She is offered with a fixed lead keel only, and performs very nicely with just a 21 inch deep draft. The term ‘crossover’ may be overused these days, but it does describe the appeal of the Precision 165 especially well.

The C-26 ( www.colgate26.com ) was built under contract by Precision Boatworks , and marketed by Steve Colgate. The boat was originally designed as a trainer for Steve’s well known Offshore Sailing School, and is very much a collaboration between Steve and Doris (basic concept and specifications), Jim Taylor (design detailing), and Precision (tooling and construction). The C-26 was so well received that she was soon marketed directly to the public, and she was recognized by Sailing World magazine as a Boat of the Year . SW judge Bill Lee wrote, “Not only did I find the Colgate 26 to be a good trainer but also I found myself applauding her for being an excellent sailboat in her own right. (She) appears (ruggedly built) relative to most modern sport boats and I found … excellent glasswork and construction quality with good attention to detail…She represents tremendous value on today’s market.” The C-26 was chosen by the US Coast Guard, US Navy, and Maine Maritime Academies for both instruction and intercollegiate competition, and she is in active production (now by Waterline Systems) with nearly 400 boats built to date.

FAQ’s ABOUT SIMILAR TAYLOR DESIGNS

Before our association with Precision Boatworks, we designed several other small cruisers that were produced by various builders, none of which currently provide support or parts to current owners. We are often asked about them, and offer the following background:

Spectrum 22

Chronologically the first of these small trailerable designs, she was commissioned by Spectrum Yacht Corp, which had a modestly successful production run. (See Spindrift 22, below)

Starwind 19

Wellcraft commissioned the Starwind 19 in the early ’80’s, and did a nice job building a lot of them (400?) before they realized that they could make much more money per square foot of factory space building powerboats. They built good quality boats to our Starwind 19 and Starwind 27 designs, before they went back to all power. The Starwind 223 was not our design.

Spindrift/Starwind

Rebel Industries bought the molds for the Starwind 19 and Spectrum 22, and built a handful of boats, not always wisely or well. They marketed the Starwind 19 variously as the Starwind 19, Starwind 190, and Spindrift 19, but left the boat essentially unchanged from the orginal Wellcraft version. They retooled the Spectrum 22 without our permission or input, as the Spindrift 22.

 

Specifications

LOA - 18' 5''
LWL - 16' 8''
BEAM - 7' 4''
DRAFT, Board up - 6"
DRAFT, Board down - 4' 10"
DRAFT, Fixed Keel Version - 3' 6"
Displacement:
  »Centerboard Model - 590 lbs. (approx.)
  »Fixed Keel Model - 880 lbs. (approx.)
Ballast, Fixed Keel Version 375 lbs. (approx.)
Sail area - 181 sq. ft.
Mast height above DWL - 27' 3"
Designer: - Jim Taylor


Awards


2003 Boat of The Year for Best Value

to Read About It

Hallberg-Rassy and Javelin
pick up awards
Click to Read About It


The first offerings from PRECISION BOATWORKS nearly 20 years ago were open daysailors with a focus on good all around performance, and they have come full circle with their new PRECISION 185. In the interim, all but one of our eight previous PRECISION designs have featured enclosed interiors as part of their appeal. Only the PRECISION 15 (and PRECISION 15K) have been open boats, offering the joy of small boat sailing in its purest, simplest form. The P-15 design focused on stability, safety, lively performance and reliable handling, and she has been a huge success. The new PRECISION 185 expands on the broad appeal of her smaller sister by adding an extra dose of acceleration and speed to her performance profile.

The ‘big daysailor’ type is still probably best defined by the Lightning, Rhodes 19 and Flying Scott, all old favorites introduced nearly forty years ago. There has not been a great deal of innovation and development in this market for some time, and various new offerings have come and gone without making much of an impact. The PRECISION 185 will make her mark by using true state-of-the-art design and construction technology to combine vastly improved ergonomics and higher performance with low weight, low maintenance, and low cost. Comfortable seating, computer-shaped hull and fins, and precise tooling will all contribute to the appeal of this ‘new century’ competitor.

Like her smaller sister, the PRECISION 185 features a large, self-draining cockpit, a secure spot for a portable ice chest, practical under-deck storage, straightforward rigging, and high quality hardware. Her swim platform at the transom is an unusual feature usually reserved for large offshore cruisers. In addition to contributing to the fun by getting swimmers back aboard more easily and allowing youngsters to trail their toes in water, this ‘back porch’ can contribute to safety by facilitating boarding from a dinghy, and recovering from an accidental ‘man overboard’ incident more easily and quickly.

The performance parameters of the PRECISION 185 are not intended to put her in the realm of a ‘crash and burn’ Australian 18 skiff, but they will give her the kind of acceleration and speed that will turn heads and quicken the pulse when desired. She will offer speed, stability and control over a wide range of conditions that will be the envy of both her classic and contemporary competitors. She will sail beautifully under main alone when shorthanded or in heavy weather. Her broad deck beam and high-volume side decks will help keep her crew dry, and maximize her resistance to capsize. She shares the careful balance and dynamic stability that have earned the PRECISION 15, 165, 18, 21, 23 and 28 their well-earned reputations as lively, reliable performers in all conditions.

PRECISION BOAT WORKS continues to focus entirely on small boats, and their long experience and expertise in this market is second to none. They have built all of our PRECISION designs with meticulous care, and their commitment to high-quality construction is unwavering. We share their pride in everything they build, and we are confident that the new PRECISION 185 will quickly earn her place as a worthy addition to their well-respected line.

Jim Taylor

Standard Equipment

  • Hand laminated fiberglass construction
  • Vinylester resin hull skin coat
  • Positive Foam flotation
  • 9 ft. 9 in. Self bailing cockpit
  • 8' 2'' Long Ergonomically correct cockpit seats
  • Stern swim platform/boarding area
  • Large forepeak locker w/watertight door
  • Ballasted fiberglass NACA foil centerboard
  • Sealed centerboard trunk w/mainsheet block
  • 4 Mooring cleats (Fixed keel version has 4 Stainless Steel Lifting eyes/mooring eyes)
  • Kick-up rudder (Fixed keel version has fixed rudder blade)
  • Tiller extension
  • Harken ball bearing blocks
  • Harken Jib track with cars and Harken cam cleats
  • Harken 4 to 1 boom vang
  • Anodized mast and boom
  • Hinged Stainless Steel mast step
  • Stainless steel standing rigging
  • Dacron running rigging
  • Stainless steel bow eye
  • Harken Jib Furling Gear
  • High Performance Mainsail and Furling Jib



» » Link to the Precision 185 Reviews

Notice: All pricing subject to change without notice, FOB Palmetto, Florida. Prices do not include transportation to the dealer, state & local taxes, dealer preparation (commissioning) bottom paint, ground tackle or safety gear. Please consult with your authorized Precision dealer to select and budget for these additional items.

Home > Resources > My Experience with Precision Sails – Three years later

My Experience with Precision Sails – Three years later

15 July 2019

Sailor Stories , Sails Tags: hunter 36 , review , Sailboat , sailing , testimonial

precision sailboat review

Matt Parsons

S. V. Gudgeon

Hunter 36 – Cherubini Design

I got my sailboat, Gudgeon, on a whim. I’d heard you could live on a sailboat and so I bought the first one I set foot on, a rather tired Cherubini designed Hunter 36. Built in 1980, she was older than I was and though kinda overbuilt as was common for boats of the time she was marketed as a ‘cruiser-racer’, as opposed to some of the heavier, full keel boats.

Matt’s S.V. Gudgeon, a Hunter 36 with Precision Sails Mainsail and Headsail

I didn’t know any of this at the time however, as at that point in time I didn’t know the difference between a halyard and a sheet. To me, it was cool and something I could afford to live on.

However, as I worked on refitting the boat, I started sailing more and more, and then eventually realized I really liked it – uh oh. A year later, Id made plans to go sailing around the pacific, if not further, and crewed on my friends race boat. Where I discovered I also liked racing. Uh-oh, again.

In order to be even vaguely competitive, I need to get new sails. My main was the boat’s original sail, and was at this point bagged out enough that calling it a ‘bedsheet’ would have been an insult to bedding everywhere. My jib was similarly woeful, being not only as old but also very obviously from a lot smaller boat. Combined with my, uh, ‘rudimentary’ sailing knowledge and I could just about make the boat go the right way (most of the time) but nowhere near efficiently.

After looking around for a while, I decided to go with Precision Sails, as with the offer they were running, the sails came to about half the price of the other local sail lofts. The quote they sent was also extremely detailed, covering all kinds of things, from the material used to the type of battens.

S.V. Gudgeon in a wing on wing configuration

In an amazing show of customer service, they also remade for free my foresail after I screwed up my measurements and made it too short – for which they have my undying gratitude.

I’ve now had my sails for almost 3 years, thrashed them up and down the Juan de Fuca in all kinds of crappy weather, been in a number of regattas and sailed up to Bella Bella in BC and down to Mexico (including 2 nights spent close reaching into 25-30 knots of wind offshore, an experience that having done without a dodger I can best describe as ‘extremely unpleasant’). Through it all the sails performed magnificently – I still get the comment ‘new sails hey?’ from random people at the dock as I am putting them away, a testament to how well they’ve held up. I’ve found under sail I can walk away from a lot of other cruising boats (IT’S ALWAYS A RACE) even bigger ones, and the sails and boat perform excellently even in very light wind (<5 knots), a fact I attribute to the smaller 115% Jib holding it’s shape well even in the lightest of breezes.

Oh and, full battens. Can’t beat them.

Matt bought Gudgeon in 2019 and has been pursuing the goal of sailing the world and living a life on the water.

You can read more about Matt’s adventures on Gudgeon at his blog:  http://www.gudgeonblog.ca/

If you would like to contribute to helping support Matt attain his dream and keep creating blogs you can become a contributing member at his patreon page:  https://www.patreon.com/LifeOnGudgeon

' src=

precisionsails

Related Posts

Jr Opti Sailing

Precision Sails Donates 3 Jr Opti Sails to the Sooke Sailing Association

Precision Sails believes in supporting its community and so when the opportunity to support the Sooke Sailing Association came up we jumped at the chance. We were able to donate three Opti sails to this wonderful organization, helping youth develop and advance their sailing skills. This blog provides images of the 3 Jr Opti sails donated to Sooke Sailing Association.

lagoon-38

Full Battens vs Partial Battens vs 2 Full plus 2 Partial Battens

 Full Battens    VS    Partial Battens      At 

Precision Sails we are asked every day during our customer quote consultation  “Should I choose Full Battens or Partial Battens for my new mainsail?”  Whether you are cruising or racing you will need to examine the pros and cons of adding full battens to your main sail.Positive Aspects of Full […]

tanzer-26-without-sails-hoisted-scaled

Memories of Sail Repairs, Replacement Sails and FINALLY New Sails

I have had a Tanzer 26 for over 20 years now. The vessel, without much imagination I call The Boat, has served me well and without complaint through yearly cruises on Lake Ontario with my three kids and day sailing with the wife. Did I mention that my wife is a good sport but a definitive lover of a good.

" * " indicates required fields

Thanks for telling us a bit about yourself and your boat. Our team will send you a preliminary quote based on information we have gathered from sailors similar to you.

We will give you a call in order to narrow down the options on your quote and improve the accuracy. If you want us to call you at a specific time, feel free to schedule a time on our calendar!

Thanks for telling us a bit about yourself and your boat. Our team will reach out to offer some suggestions and get started on finding you the perfect sail!

Sailboat Owners Forums

  • Forums New posts Unanswered threads Register Top Posts Email
  • What's new New posts New Posts (legacy) Latest activity New media
  • Media New media New comments
  • Boat Info Downloads Weekly Quiz Topic FAQ 10000boatnames.com
  • Classifieds Sell Your Boat Used Gear for Sale
  • Parts General Marine Parts Hunter Beneteau Catalina MacGregor Oday
  • Help Terms of Use Monday Mail Subscribe Monday Mail Unsubscribe

Precision 21 vs O'Day 192

  • Thread starter GordoSK
  • Start date Sep 13, 2011
  • Forums for All Owners
  • Trailer Sailors

Hello, I am a new sailor currently taking lessons and I am considering the two boats (Precision 21 and O’day 192) that are for sale in my area. My master plan to trailer to the 5 lakes I have available within 30 minutes of my home, one lake is a mile away. I would like to spend a couple/few years getting experience then spend time in the Apostle Islands and Door county Wisconsin. I like the concept of the combination Shoal Draft Keel and Centerboard. The Oday is listed as $2200 cheaper, but feel it might be too small to spend any significant time on with the possibly of up to 2 adults and 2 kids. I might need to upgrade boats in a couple of years. With the Precision I think it will be large enough to Camp, but not too large to Sail/trailer. But is it $2200 better? My family has experience sleeping in close quarters, since we do pop up camping, Canoe camping, and backpack camping. Thanks for your time and your thoughts chris  

SamLust

Forget the money, get the Precision. You'll never be sorry.  

dscribner

Chris, Size DOES matter. If you're planning on spending time on the boat, go bigger. We bought a Lancer 25. It's the perfect boat for us. 1) The headroom is around 5'-10. 2) It has an enclosed head (but not very big) 3) It has a shoal keel, draws 30". We sail it all over mid-coast Maine, no more than 10 miles out and nothin' bigger that 8' waves. I'm not necessarily advocating a Lancer. Some folks really don't like them. I am, however, suggesting that you go a little bigger. I think you'll be happier on that long weekend with the Mrs. On the smaller boat, if she needs to tinkle (or more) it means a porta-potti in the middle of the salon, for all to see. This doesn't bother some folks. If I may be so bold, before you buy, pick up a copy of The Complete Trailer Sailor by Brian Gilbert (or something like it). I got a copy for $9 on Amazon.com. Gilbert covers all sorts of trailering and sailing subject but most importantly, he has 50 or so trailerables in the back with photos, specs, details, pros and cons. It can help you decide what's best for you. We didn't but we really got lucky. Some of the boats we were considering would still be on the hard in the driveway. Good luck! Don  

Go with the P21. The wife and i just did first overnight in our P18, It was crowded for just 2 people. Precision Boat would be my choice of course If all other things (size,condition,trailer,etc) are equal. David  

Sumner

I agree on the size and would look to something that is as big as your budget allows if you want to spend more than just a day or two on the water at a time. The cockpit size will be as important as the interior size. I looked at some of the Precisions and they look like a lot of boat for one that is only 21 feet. It looks like they don't take much draft, but look quite high on the trailer in pictures I've seen. If you are doing a lot of trailering to different lakes I'd be concerned about getting the boat into the water with whatever tow vehicle you have. Maybe their tongue extends. I'd want a boat that is easy to launch and also one that is quick to setup once at the ramp. Whatever you choose have them launch and setup and retreive once for you if possible and see if that is acceptable to you and your family. If it is a pain or needs the 'just right' ramp that could effect how much you use the boat. Here is a MacGregor video that shows some of the ramp situations.... http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7076785769434785211 ...I'm not saying buy one, but if you want to use the boat a lot at different places getting it to and in and out of the water will be a big issue. Maybe more so than how well it sails. The best of luck, Sum Our Endeavour 37 Our Trips to Utah, Idaho, Canada, Florida Our MacGregor S Pages Mac-Venture Links  

Fly_H23

I'd agree with the other replies and suggest going with the roomiest boat your budget and tow vehicle can safely handle. We bought a Hunter 23 and it's just enough room for two adults overnighting. I had a 20' Hunter previously and now already thinking about 25+ footers. Good luck in your search!  

For the past 10 years we have sailed a 1985 Starwind 223 in sailing venues from the Florida Keys to The Long Island Sound. The Starwind was designed by Jim Taylor who also designed the Precision 21. The short keel/ centerboard combo design provides the benefits of a fixed keel with the convenience of an easy trailerable boat. We have sailed that Starwind in weather where much larger boats were afraid to leave the dock. I consider the boat to be safer than one with a swing ballasted keel and more stable than water ballasted vessels. Never buy a boat that from the onset you consider it to be to small. Somehow it will just continue to get smaller and you'll probably end up loosing money just getting rid of it within a year. I vote for the Precision.  

Joe

Make an offer on the P21, but not full price. Perhaps you can knock that $2200 price difference down a bit.  

Based on my experience, I'd get the O'Day now and look for a larger boat later when you are ready to do some cruising. A smaller (more easily trailered/rigged) boat will probably get sailed more at your local lakes. For cruising, a larger boat(P-23 or similar) would be great. Its hard to find one boat to do everything with. I started out with an O-Day 22 but ended up with three boats which all get used depending on where I am going and how much time I have. Besides, looking at and fixing up older boats is part of the fun of sailing.  

Thanks all for your feedback and suggestions, I have deciding to go with the Precision 21, I pick it up on Saturday. I look forward to spending many days getting to learn her and sailing, I do plan on naming her since the boat does not have a name, I dont have to worry about jinxing it. chris  

That's a good choice! If you're not familiar with trailers, have someone check over the wheel bearings and tires very carefully. You still have decent weather where you're located to sail much into the fall?  

Joe11688

I would go with the Precision 21. I love my O'Day 222 but the O'Day 192 is a little small for overnighters with a family. Also, both of these boats have been known to have serious rudder blade issues.  

both ?  

BadMoon

GordoSK said: Thanks all for your feedback and suggestions, I have deciding to go with the Precision 21, I pick it up on Saturday. I look forward to spending many days getting to learn her and sailing, I do plan on naming her since the boat does not have a name, I dont have to worry about jinxing it. chris Click to expand

Picking up the boat today, waking up to 45 degrees. My plan was to continue taking lessons with the new (to me) boat and hopefully go by myself a couple of times through October, I have inside (heated)storage lined up for the winter starting in November.  

Chris, We have a standing rule here a SBO; "No pictures, didn't happen." Spoil us. Don  

After I little rough ride back, she's in the driveway...  

Attachments

DSCN1898.jpeg

Nice Boat!!!!!  

Very nice! First time towing a bigger boat is always stressful.  

  • This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register. By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies. Accept Learn more…

Visit our Popular Forums

  • Monohull Sailboats
  • Multihull Sailboats
  • Powered Boats
  • General Sailing
  • Antares Yachts
  • Fountaine Pajot
  • Lagoon Catamarans

Cruising Business

  • Boat Classifieds
  • General Classifieds
  • Crew Positions
  • Commercial Posts
  • Vendor Spotlight

Life Aboard a Boat

  • Provisioning: Food & Drink
  • Families, Kids, & Pets Afloat
  • Recreation, Entertainment, & Fun
  • Boat Ownership & Making a Living
  • Liveaboard's Forum

Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling

  • Seamanship & Boat Handling
  • Training, Licensing, & Certification
  • Health, Safety, & Related Gear
  • Rules of the Road, Regulations, & Red Tape

Engineering & Systems

  • Const. / Maint. / Refit
  • Product / Service Reviews
  • Electronics: Comms / AV
  • Electrical: Batts / Gen / Solar
  • Lithium Power Systems
  • Engines & Propulsion
  • Propellers & Drive Systems
  • Plumbing / Fixtures
  • Deck Hdw: Rigging / Sails
  • Aux. Equipment & Dinghy
  • Anchoring & Mooring

Photo Categories

  • Member Galleries
  • Life Onboard
  • Sailing in the Wind
  • Power Boats
  • Cruising Destinations
  • Maint. & Boat Building
  • Marine Life
  • Scuba Diving & Divers
  • General Photos

Recent Photos

precision sailboat review

Listing Categories

  • African Cats
  • view more »
  • Crew Wanted
  • Crew Available
  • Enhance Your Account
  • Meet the Mods
  • Meet the Advisors
  • Signup for The Daily Cruiser Email
  > >

Cruiser Wiki

 
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums.
11-12-2023, 16:58  
Boat: Jeanneau 419
?

Pros/cons
11-12-2023, 17:17  
Boat: Morgan 382
with them, the form for measuring the rig was thorough and easy to understand. I had a couple long calls with the sail during the design process to go over some details.
The slide were shipped separately by mistake. I needed slides for a Tides track that they didn't stock. They paid a local loft to sew them on.
11-12-2023, 19:08  
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
actually sail. (I have a , they’re not know for being great sailors). My only gripe is they installed the tellails pointing straight down. They should have been installed horizontally.

Very happy wth the and .
12-12-2023, 06:02  
Boat: Colimbia 8.7M
12-12-2023, 06:19  
Boat: Hunter 280
280. Don't know how the fit will be until the spring. I was concerned about the original quote which showed the sq. ft. of the sail was a lot less than my manual indicated. Sent an and got a call within a couple of days from the . Hunter's have a huge roach. He had already noticed the issue and we discussed everything in length. Of course the cost went up due to the extra amount of sail material. They kept me well informed to how the production was going. They were very easy to deal with and answered all my questions especially with the measurements which you have to do yourself. I'll update in the spring once I rig the .
12-12-2023, 12:34  
Boat: Catalina 30
12-12-2023, 12:46  
Boat: Jeanneau 419
12-12-2023, 14:17  
Boat: Bristol 27
.......

They have Rolly Tasker Sails.

The guy I dealt with was located in .

14-12-2023, 03:59  
Boat: Island Packet 29
14-12-2023, 04:11  
Boat: Bristol 27
for my boar from Sail Warehouse is around $697 as compared to $1500 or so at the "local loft" 115 miles away.
14-12-2023, 04:32  
Boat: Jeanneau 419
14-12-2023, 04:49  
Boat: Tartan 40
this from Quantum- the quote from Quantum was very competitive with Precision. Nice to meet with someone to go over the boat and measure it.
And, when they bend it on in the spring I have the local loft support for anything that isn’t quite right.

So to me, it’s about supporting a locally based loft and about the assured quality that comes with the brand. Yes the sail was not built locally- few are- but the local support is very important to me
14-12-2023, 05:06  
Boat: Jeanneau 419
back in 2005 and bought a set of hi tech Quantums they were fantastic. cost about $25K

I imagine today they cost $40K


But today I just don't need that hi tech for cruising, so I'm Dacron.

I don't need a on the boat, I can video an issue if needed and if an adjustment is needed they will pay for a local loft to make those adjustments
14-12-2023, 12:35  
Boat: Catalina 30
phase) so take my comments with a grain of .

During my , I was surprised to discover that all sailmakers source the sailcloth from the same cloth makers (there appear to be 3-4 worldwide). The difference between sailmakers is , design, and warranty. If you don't want to measure and install your sails, a local loft that provides this service seems like a good choice, you'll just have to pay for the labor. If you can measure and install you can use a that is further away from your boat.

I think speaking to the sail designer seems to be a good idea. I've found this isn't an option with all sailmakers.
14-12-2023, 12:38  
Boat: Tartan 40
back in 2005 and bought a set of hi tech Quantums they were fantastic. cost about $25K

I imagine today they cost $40K


But today I just don't need that hi tech for cruising, so I'm Dacron.

I don't need a sailmaker on the boat, I can video an issue if needed and if an adjustment is needed they will pay for a local loft to make those adjustments
 
,
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
:
Posting Rules
post new threads post replies post attachments edit your posts is are code is are are are
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nicholson58 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 8 22-07-2023 13:44
thomm225 Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 0 21-03-2022 04:31
CaptainPete222 Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 12 28-01-2022 07:12
clamcake Our Community 51 03-01-2022 10:32
CaptainPete222 Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 1 29-12-2021 06:51
- - - - - - -

Privacy Guaranteed - your email is never shared with anyone, opt out any time.

Sailing Into History: All 7 ‘Deadliest Catch’ Boats That Are Decommissioned

4

Your changes have been saved

Email Is sent

Please verify your email address.

You’ve reached your account maximum for followed topics.

It’s a matter of life or death in Discovery’s Deadliest Catch . With the recent premiere of Season 20 , the captains are back for another round of crab fishing on the deadly Bering Sea - all for a chance at a lucrative payday. The 59-time Emmy-nominated series offers an exclusive look one could ever dream of. Featuring an unfiltered glimpse into the grueling October king crab and January opilio crab seasons, the series shows that life on deck is not for the faint-hearted.

Many of the show’s vessels have faced their final voyages after years of battling the harsh elements of the sea. These ships, once vital to the survival and success of their crews, have countless stories etched on their hulls. Each vessel reflects the ever-changing landscape of the crab fishing industry , where even the most reliable boats eventually succumb to the relentless nature of their work.

Check out the stories of these six decommissioned boats on Deadliest Catch .

Deadliest Catch (2005)

Captain: jake anderson.

In Season 12, fifth-generation fisherman Jake Anderson took over the captain’s seat of the F/V Saga and gave the vessel a complete makeover. Originally built in 1979 and stretching 107 feet long, the Saga underwent a major transformation under Anderson’s care. He installed a brand new refrigeration system, thoroughly cleaned the fuel and water tanks, completely rebuilt all the boat’s CAT engines, gave the ship a fresh coat of paint with a new color scheme, upgraded the wheelhouse for better efficiency and safety, and overhauled the crane and most of the hydraulic system. Despite facing major challenges, including a loose rudder threatening to sink the ship during a storm 460 miles from the nearest port, the Saga fished one of the largest king crab quotas in the fleet.

However, fans of Deadliest Catch may notice the absence of the F/V Saga in Season 20 . Before the season began, Captain Anderson received some shocking news about his beloved vessel. As he revealed in the premiere, he got a call from his partner saying the Saga was running out of money. After reaching the dock, one of his deckhands showed him a repossession note on the boat. Just like that, after nearly a decade of co-owning the ship, the F/V Saga is no longer his. Upon learning Anderson doesn’t have a boat to work with this season, his mentor Sig Hansen stepped in, offering Anderson a place on his ship , the F/V Northwestern. He then moved on to the Titan Explorer.

6 F/V Destination

Captain: jeff hathaway.

On February 11, 2017, the F/V Destination tragically went missing during Season 13 of Deadliest Catch , resulting in the loss of its entire six-member crew, including the fleet’s close friend , Captain Jeff Hathaway . The catastrophe was primarily attributed to the unsafe stability conditions , which included carrying heavier crab pots than those specified in its stability instructions. Moreover, excessive ice accumulation from freezing spray added an estimated 340,000 pounds of weight, throwing the vessel off balance. But what eventually led to the ship’s capsizing was downflooding, the ingress of seawater through submerged openings. The ship ultimately sank and met its demise in a matter of minutes, with very little, if not none, time for the crew to actually react to the situation.

5 F/V Scandies Rose

Captain: gary cobban jr..

In Deadliest Catch Season 16, the F/V Scandies Rose faced a heartbreaking fate on 31, 2019, during its journey from Kodiak to the Bering Sea. In the middle of the night, the United States Coast Guard alerted the fleet on water , including Hansen, about a distress call from the Scandies Rose, prompting a desperate, emergency search in freezing weather conditions. Despite their efforts, only two members were rescued, Jon Lawler and Dean Gribble . Unfortunately, Captain Gary Cobban Jr. and four other crew members were still missing. After a 20-hour search covering 1,400 square miles with four helicopter crews, two airplane crews, and the US Coast Guard cutter Mellon, the remaining members were never found.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) concluded that the sinking was primarily due to faulty stability instructions . The instructions lacked essential details about downflooding points and misrepresented sections of the deck space. Additionally, severe freezing spray conditions likely led to ice buildup on the boat, adding weight and destabilizing it. One of the surviving crew members, who had been keeping an eye on the ice accumulation, thought about waking the crew to clear the ice and possibly changing course and speed. However, the captain decided against this due to the hazardous sea conditions.

4 F/V Cornelia Marie

Captain: phil harris.

Throughout the first decade of Deadliest Catch , the F/V Cornelia Marie became one of the show’s most cherished vessels. Under the command of the late Captain Phil Harris , the ship has had its moments throughout the series. Just like the other ships, the F/V Cornelia Marie and its crew braved subfreezing temperatures and icy conditions as they raced to make a successful haul during the Opilio season. Unfortunately, the fate of F/V Cornelia Marie took an abrupt pause when Captain Harris suffered a stroke while offloading crabs in 2010, eventually leading to his passing at the age of 53 due to intracranial hemorrhage.

Since then, the F/V Cornelia has made on-again off-again appearances. Eventually, Phil’s son, Josh Harris , along with Captain Casey McManus , managed to acquire the vessel. However, due to Josh’s guilty plea for a 1998 sexual assault case involving a minor , Josh’s ties to Deadliest Catch have been cut off, and Cornelia Marie is now absent from the show due to its connection with Josh.

3 F/V North American

Captain: sten skaar.

In Season 4 of Deadliest Catch , the F/V North American made a memorable guest appearance, best known for being on the receiving end of a Port-A-Potty prank on the sea . However, on May 16, 2024, the vessel faced a more serious ordeal when it partially sank at a dock in the Lake Washington Ship Canal in Seattle . The incident occurred east of the Ballard Bridge, and the Coast Guard Sector Puget Sound received a distress call early Tuesday morning.

Though the crabber can hold up to 32,500 gallons of diesel, the exact amount onboard at the time was unclear. In response, Seattle Fire and other agencies quickly deployed a containment boom around the vessel to prevent fuel pollution, and a dive team worked to seal the vents to minimize further fuel leakage. While there’s no news yet whether the ship is still able to be restored, chances are any fishing activity on the North American is put to a halt until proper investigations take place.

2 F/V Katmai

Captain: henry blake.

Season 5 of Deadliest Catch featured the F/V Katmai, which met a tragic fate on October 21, 2008, when it capsized and sank in the Aleutian Islands , 120 miles from Adak Island. The 93-foot vessel, carrying 11 crew members and 120,000 pounds of frozen cod, was caught in a severe storm, resulting in the loss of steering and progressive flooding as water began entering through open watertight doors. Despite rescue efforts by the Coast Guard, only four crew members, including Captain Henry Blake , survived after enduring over 15 hours on a life raft.

1 F/V Victory

Captain: sophia "bob" nelson.

Sophia "Bob" Nielsen , a third-generation fisherwoman, originally captained the F/V Victory when it first appeared on the show in Season 19. The green and white 74-foot wooden vessel was a heirloom passed down to Bob from her family. Sadly, she lost both of her parents before she could even learn crab fishing from her father. Determined to keep their legacy alive, she took on the role of captain for the F/V Victory. Unfortunately, in Episode 13 of Deadliest Catch Season 19, the F/V Victory hit a rough patch. Her vessel collided with a passing ship in the middle of the night , and the generator blew up. Reflecting on her first year with F/V Victory, Bob shares that despite catching nearly 40,000 pounds of crab, she ended up $200,000 in debt because of the mishaps.

In her latest update on the F/V Victory, it seems like the ship is undergoing through some repairs . However, it will probably take some time before it's ready to tackle the tough Bering sea again. Meanwhile, viewers can still catch Bob in action on Season 20 of Deadliest Catch , where she now captains the massive 113-foot F/V Seabrooke, thanks to an offer from family friend Captain Greg Wallace . However, not everyone is happy with Bob suddenly being captain of another vessel, especially since nepotism played a role in Bob allowing her to obtain this opportunity .

Deadliest Catch (2005)

  • Discovery Channel

SailNet Community banner

  • Forum Listing
  • Marketplace
  • Advanced Search
  • All Topics Sailing
  • General Sailing Discussions
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Precision 15

  • Add to quote

I looked at a Precision 15 today for my first boat. I believe it is an older model since the hatch is on the foredeck rather than on the bulkhead on the front of the cockpit as show on the current website but the rigging and sails appear to be in pretty good shape. The current owner has had it 4 years and it has been stored indoors. There is a crack in the center of the stern step which appears to be caused by the base of the mast hitting it while trailering. The present owner says it was there when he bought the boat and has a large piece of foam that he places under the butt of the mast when he trailers the boat to prevent further damage. Also, the plug on the starboard side of the centerboard has been sealed shut with some type of caulk because he claims he could not stop it from leaking. I could not find the plug on the parts listing on the Precision website so maybe it is also a feature of the older boats. The trailer is in pretty good shape with new tires. He is asking $2000 but I think I will offer a little less. Any words of advice from those who are experienced?  

precision sailboat review

similar thread here http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gener...good-small-boat-older-fatter-woman-learn.html what is the year of the boat  

I don't know the year, I read through the entire post and as far as I can determine it didn't address anything I asked, but thanks for the link.  

Sorry, I meant that many of the things new boat buyer/owners would be interested in. Do you have the opportunity to go for a sail? I have a DC 15 that is working well for me, but it leaks somewhere... also the bailor must have had a problem in the past be cause a bad fiberglass repair job was done one it (perhaps where the leak is from... I didn't go for a sail, but it would be something I would look at if I would have known... In the end, I think it is no a big deal directly, but indirectly I would have asked for a lower price. to that notion and the sealed plug, I wonder how it affects the core edit: do you have a picture?  

Here is a link to the post on Craig's List, it has a number of pictures. And thanks for the help! Precision 15 sail boat Here is another boat available in the same price range: 15' West Wight Potter Sailboat (1976)  

  • ?            
  • 175.5K members

Top Contributors this Month

precision sailboat review

precision sailboat review

All 11 Fight Scenes In Road House 2024, Ranked

  • Hard-hitting fight scenes with expert precision make the new 'Road House' a thrilling watch for action lovers.
  • Elwood Dalton's ruthless tactics and tragic past add an edge to the chaotic violence in the remake.
  • Director Doug Liman makes the fight scenes leap out from the screen.

Just like the original movie starring Patrick Swayze, the new remake of Road House features plenty of brilliant fight scenes. The 1989 version of Road House is the ultimately guilty pleasure movie, packed with scenes of lowlife scum getting summarily beaten down by a stoic bouncer. The remake recaptures this crowd-pleasing feel, but it also features fight scenes which are laced with incredible tension. There are plenty of differences between the two movies, not least Dalton's UFC past in the 2024 version, but the remake is just as chaotically violent.

Jake Gyllenhaal plays Elwood Dalton, a former UFC champion who retired after killing an opponent in the ring. Rather than cobbling together an unsatisfying life scaring underground MMA fighters out of their winnings, Dalton takes a job as a bouncer at a rowdy bar in the Florida Keys. Road House has been receiving positive reviews , and its hard-hitting fight scenes are a big reason why. Director Doug Liman previously worked on the action thrillers The Bourne Identity and Edge of Tomorrow , and he makes Road House 's fight scenes leap out from the screen.

Road House is available to stream now on Amazon Prime Video.

Road House Review: Doug Liman's Remake Is Bigger, Louder & Slightly Dumber Than The Original

Dalton breaking jack's fingers, dalton can incapacitate people with surgical precision.

Dalton often shows signs of his incredible understanding of human anatomy, presumably learned from years as a professional fighter. He knows exactly how to inflict the most damage with the absolute minimum effort, and this is how he turns the table on Jack when he pulls a gun on him. Jack thinks that waving a gun at Dalton will be enough to force him into his car, but Dalton doesn't break a sweat. He tells Jack very calmly that all he needs to do is break his index finger and his middle finger, and he follows through.

Dalton's Throat-Punch Kill

Dalton stops holding back after brandt's men burn down the book store.

One other instance of Dalton using his knowledge of the human body is when he kills Vince with a single punch to the throat. He explains that he's probably broken his hyoid bone and collapsed his trachea, but either result will stop him being able to breathe. It's an uncharacteristically cold-blooded moment from Dalton, and it suggests that mentally he could be back on the path to the dark place that saw him kill one of his opponents in the ring. This moment could be a tribute to the original Road House , in which Dalton rips out a man's throat.

Dell Being Killed By The Crocodile

Dell thinks he has the upper hand on dalton, but he ends up being eaten.

Dell doesn't take his initial loss to Dalton lightly. As soon as he's out of the hospital, he tries to run Dalton down in his car. When that doesn't work, he ambushes Dalton on his boat, aptly named "the Boat," with a shotgun in his hand. Just as Jack finds out, having a gun doesn't necessarily give you the advantage over Dalton in a fight. Dalton quickly disarms Dell and knocks him overboard. He tries to rescue him before a crocodile snaps him up, but he's too late. As everyone in Glass Key knows, "crocs hide their food."

Dalton & Ellie Fighting Brandt On His Boat

The waves level the playing field.

As Brandt tries to escape from his burning yacht, he takes a smaller speedboat with Ellie alongside as a hostage. Dalton commandeers Knox's boat and tracks him down, and he teams up with Ellie to fight Brandt as the boat is tossed around by the ocean. The waves add some extra jeopardy to the fight, but Brandt is no real fighter. If it was a regular fight on flat ground, Dalton probably could have killed him in seconds. He loses control of the boat before too long and gets catapulted into the bar, setting up Road House 's ending .

18 Best Jake Gyllenhaal Movies, Ranked

Billy breaking up a fight at the road house, dalton's apprentice learns how to take out the trash.

Rather than taking on every rowdy customer who comes to the bar, Dalton decides to train Billy and Reef as bouncers so that they can deal with the everyday troublemakers. They could hardly ask for a better teacher, as shown by how quickly their skills develop. Dalton is surprisingly hands-off in his approach. He tells Billy exactly what to do when a fight breaks out and one man has a concealed knife. Billy takes a big step back and pops him in the nose. Dalton can leave later knowing that the Road House is in safe hands.

Dalton's Career-Ending UFC Fight

Road house's ufc scenes use real-life fighters and pundits.

Director Doug Liman uses POV shots in Dalton's darkest moments, and his fight with Harris is the darkest of all.

Conor McGregor isn't the only UFC fighter in Road House . Jay Hieron plays Jax "Jetway" Harris, Dalton's opponent in his championship bout. Road House drip feeds the story of Dalton's fight throughout the movie. Eventually, it becomes clear why the event haunts Dalton's dreams. Dalton kills Harris in the ring by refusing to stop. Director Doug Liman uses POV shots in Dalton's darkest moments, and his fight with Harris is the darkest of all. The spectacle of the big occasion makes Dalton's trauma even worse. The cameras flash around him as he begins to understand what he has just done.

Post Malone's Bareknuckle Boxing Fight

The rapper is surprisingly convincing in his cameo.

Post Malone is one of the most surprising members of the Road House cast , along with Conor McGregor. He plays Carter, a bareknuckle fighter in the movie's first scene. Fittingly, the movie opens with a punch to the face, as Carter takes down a much larger opponent. The ring announcer claims that Carter has taken down six challengers in a row, but he backs down from fighting Dalton when he recognizes who he is. Road House starts with a bang , immediately signaling its intention to be just as action-packed as the 1989 original.

Knox Destroying The Bar With A Golf Club

Conor mcgregor's introduction shakes things up.

As soon as Conor McGregor is introduced as Knox, strutting boldly down the street in the nude, Road House kicks into another gear.

As soon as Conor McGregor is introduced as Knox, strutting boldly down the street in the nude, Road House kicks into another gear. He throws his weight around with Brandt's crew before strolling into the Road House like he owns it with a golf club in his hands. Knox brings a whirlwind of chaos with him, smashing glasses as he almost dances his way through the bar. He seems to enjoy violence and pain, and he picks fights with bystanders just to cause a nuisance. He even tears through the netting which protects the band.

Knox & Dalton's First Road House Fight

Dalton meets his match at last.

After Dalton decides that Knox's antics have gone too far, he steps in to confront him. Despite the chaos all around them as an all-out bar fight ensues, Knox and Dalton remain utterly focused on one another. Their fight is the first time that Dalton truly seems like he's in danger. Even being stabbed in the abdomen and hit by a train is less threatening than Knox tossing him behind the bar and slamming his fists through glass bottles as if they are made of tissue paper. Dalton walks away from the Road House, seemingly defeated.

Road House 2024 Soundtrack Guide: Every Song & When They Play

Dalton taking down dell's gang at the road house, dalton finally shows what he's capable of.

Dalton's legend precedes him everywhere he goes , and this builds him up to be a fearsome warrior before he ever even throws a punch. Carter quits his fight as soon as he sees Dalton in the ring, and Billy says he is a big fan as soon as he meets him. Dalton has a lot to live up to, and his first fight scene shows that he's worthy of the hype. He asks Dell if he has medical insurance first, and then he brutally dispatches him and his four friends. Dalton's bone-cracking, head-smashing skills are put on display for all to see, but he never breaks a sweat.

Dalton & Knox's Final Showdown

Road house's final fight is also its best.

Dalton and Knox's second fight is a beautifully choreographed mixture of MMA mastery and sheer power.

Road House saves the very best for last. Knox and Dalton's final fight is just as incredible as the first one, but Dalton no longer reins in his killer instincts. Their fight is a beautifully choreographed mixture of MMA mastery and sheer power. They tumble around the ruins of the bar, grappling on the floor for a while, before both tiring and going blow-for-blow with the power of two heavyweight boxers. When Dalton seems finished, he draws on something extra to fight back and brutally stabs Knox with two broken pieces of wood. Road House 's post-credits scene shows Knox alive, setting up a potential rematch for the pair.

All 11 Fight Scenes In Road House 2024, Ranked

IMAGES

  1. Precision 21 Sailboat

    precision sailboat review

  2. Precision 18 By Precision Boat Works ShortyPen Sailboat Guide

    precision sailboat review

  3. Precision 23

    precision sailboat review

  4. Precision Boat Works Precision 23 Technical Details

    precision sailboat review

  5. Precision 14 ft Sailboat

    precision sailboat review

  6. Precision 16

    precision sailboat review

VIDEO

  1. 2002 Precision 28

  2. 2004 Precision P23 for sale in Madison, WI, US

  3. Amazing boat fits in a box

  4. Sailboat Racing Tips: Pressure vs Shift

  5. Precision sailboats Build Quality

  6. Monitor Your Whole Boat From Home On A Mobile App

COMMENTS

  1. I need some feedback on the Precision 18

    Sep 11, 2015. 1,584. Merit 22- Oregon lakes. Jun 11, 2017. #1. I'm afraid I may have to sell my beloved Victoria 18 soon, as my wife just doesn't feel comfortable in it. the Vic is only 5.5' wide, so it is initially tender. With the 550b keel it firms up solid as a rock beyond 15* or so, but she just doesn't feel secure in it regardless.

  2. Precision_23

    The Jim Taylor-designed Precision 23 achieves stability with fixed ballast and a shallow keel/centerboard configuration. With the board up the minimum draft is just under 2 feet; draft increases to 5 feet, 4 inches with the board down. The Precision also bucks pocket-cruiser convention in that it has a conventional cabin-top and legitimate side ...

  3. New Precision 23 Owner

    14. Precision P23 perdido key florida. Jan 16, 2012. #1. I recently purchased a 2005 Precision 23. Took it out for our first sail this past weekend. Coming from a Compac Legacy 16ft, which is a terrific and tough boat. The cabin design of the 23 was so great as to use as much space as possible. Even though there is only about 51 inches of ...

  4. Precision 23

    Taylor and Precision Boat Works have succeeded in producing a top-end trailerable sailboat best described as a handsome weekender. Specifications. LOA: 23 ft 5 in: LWL: 20 ft: Beam: 8ft 6 in: ... Beneteau Antares 23 Boat Review. Valerie Mellema. April 8, 2020. Boat Reviews. Chris-Craft Catalina 23: One Sweet Ride. Gary Reich. November 30, 2015 ...

  5. Precision 23

    Precision 23 Reviewed By Thom Burns. As you approach the Precision 23 at the dock, you notice that the white hull is neatly trimmed in teak and accentuated by light gray non-skid.This boat has nice lines which welcome you aboard. In new cruising boats, I immediately look for cockpit size and comfort, visibility, and a light, open airy feel in the cabin.

  6. Thoughts on the Precision 23

    One that has caught my attention is the Precision 23. It is a trailerable pocket cruiser, weighing 2495 lbs dry. With trailer and 500lbs of gear, could weigh in at 4000 lbs, within reach of a mid-size SUV or truck. Reviews that I have read state that mast stepping can be done by one person (better with two people) in less than 30 minutes, and ...

  7. Precision 15: Bob Perry Review

    This boat was developed from the centerboard model of the Precision 15. It is a modern attempt to produce a daysailer with no germane idiosyncrasies and a more up-to-date performance level. The target market for this boat could be family day-sailing, but the 15 would also make a very nice trainer. The hull is broad enough to provide stability ...

  8. Why I love my Precision 18

    Five reasons I chose the Precision 18 over other small trailerable sailboats: 1. Shallow 18" draft, 2. Open, airy cabin, 3. Flat, walkable foredeck, 4. Bow a...

  9. Precision 185, Well-Done Daysailing Performer

    Walter Cooper. The Precision 185 was voted Best Value for its combination of good sailing characteristics, substantial construction, and reasonable cost. First and foremost this boat performs well ...

  10. PRECISION 18

    It takes into consideration "reported" sail area, displacement and length at waterline. The higher the number the faster speed prediction for the boat. A cat with a number 0.6 is likely to sail 6kts in 10kts wind, a cat with a number of 0.7 is likely to sail at 7kts in 10kts wind. KSP = (Lwl*SA÷D)^0.5*0.5

  11. Precision 165: Bob Perry Design Review

    The Precision 16.5 would be a great way to get started. A great way to get started in the sport of sailing. Boat Specifications. 2.29. Contact Precision Boat Works: (941) 722-6601. Fax: (941) 722-4517. www.precisionboatworks.com. This story originally appeared in Sailing Magazine, and is republished here by permission.

  12. Precision15

    Jun 8, 2004. 10,146. -na -NA Anywhere USA. Jul 16, 2015. #3. AS a former dealer and owner of a Precision 15, it in many ways has more room than longer daysailors and is built well. Heeling no more than 12 degrees, you will go fast as there is less wetted surface or friction when sailing flatter vs. heeled way over.

  13. Precision 28

    Boat Review Forum. SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, ... In my search for the owners manual I called Precision Boat Works and wound up speaking with the owner. In our conversation he noted that only 200 of the 27 and 28s were built.FWIW .

  14. Precision 15

    Precision 15. Here is a compact daysailer from Jim Taylor and the Precision people in Florida. This boat was developed from the centerboard model of the Precision 15. The package is distinctly different from the catboat. While the catboat is traditional all the way, the Precision is a modern attempt to produce a daysailer with no genetic ...

  15. Precision: Small, Fast, and Fun

    Precision 15 and Precision 15K. The Precision 15 was intended as an entry level family boat, with pricing and practicality to suit. Precision 15's are easy to rig, easy to handle, and rewarding to sail. They achieve a nice balance between rewarding performance and reliable seakeeping, which they combine with ample stability.

  16. Precision Boat Works P-15 Sailboat

    The Precision 15 features an unusually broad beam, substantial freeboard and high volume coamings to help prevent swamping or capsizing. She provides a large forward storage area and her cockpit is safe and comfortable for both adults and children, with footwells and seats unusually wide and deep. With an unobtrusively low centerboard trunk and ...

  17. Precision 14

    The P 14' should be a fine learning platform since it has main and jib sails. Precision is still making boats, just not the 14 footer anymore. There are a few P 14's that were listed here: Precision Sailboat Photo Gallery. Note that the asking price is more or less in line with your $900 option.

  18. Precision Boat Works

    Sail area - 181 sq. ft. Mast height above DWL - 27' 3" Designer: - Jim Taylor. Awards. Sailing World Magazine 2003 Boat of The Year for Best Value. ... » » Link to the Precision 185 Reviews #1 #2 » » Link to the Precision 185 Awards: Notice: All pricing subject to ...

  19. My Experience with Precision Sails

    My Experience with Precision Sails - Three years later. Matt Parsons. S. V. Gudgeon. Hunter 36 - Cherubini Design. I got my sailboat, Gudgeon, on a whim. I'd heard you could live on a sailboat and so I bought the first one I set foot on, a rather tired Cherubini designed Hunter 36. Built in 1980, she was older than I was and though kinda ...

  20. Precision 15 with or without keel

    I think the precision 15 fits the bill pretty good. The only thing I'm not sure of is if I should get the keel or centerboard version. The center board draws 3' 8" and the keel 1' 9". I don't have a depth problem at any local lakes with either boat. The keel will be harder to launch, but still should be pretty easy at normal boat ramps and will ...

  21. Precision 21 vs O'Day 192

    4,881. Oday 222 Dighton, Ma. Sep 15, 2011. #13. I would go with the Precision 21. I love my O'Day 222 but the O'Day 192 is a little small for overnighters with a family. Also, both of these boats have been known to have serious rudder blade issues. L.

  22. Precision sails

    Join Date: Sep 2010. Location: Tampa, FL. Boat: Jeanneau 419. Posts: 470. Re: Precision sails. Sure but what sail is $6,000 vs $3500 with similar cloth, I was racing back in 2005 and bought a set of hi tech Quantums they were fantastic. cost about $25K. I imagine today they cost $40K.

  23. All 7 Decommissioned Boats on 'Deadliest Catch'

    Please verify your email address. You've reached your account maximum for followed topics. It's a matter of life or death in Discovery's Deadliest Catch. With the recent premiere of Season ...

  24. Precision 15

    925 posts · Joined 2015. #1 ·Apr 18, 2015. I looked at a Precision 15 today for my first boat. I believe it is an older model since the hatch is on the foredeck rather than on the bulkhead on the front of the cockpit as show on the current website but the rigging and sails appear to be in pretty good shape. The current owner has had it 4 ...

  25. All 11 Fight Scenes In Road House 2024, Ranked

    Hard-hitting fight scenes with expert precision make the new 'Road House' a thrilling watch for action lovers. Elwood Dalton's ruthless tactics and tragic past add an edge to the chaotic violence ...